This article applies to selling in: United Arab Emirates

Safety and Compliance – Electrical and Electronic Products

Disclaimer: This document serves informational purposes only, does not constitute legal advice, and is no substitute for advice from legal counsel. It remains your sole responsibility to comply with the electrical and electronics safety laws and regulations, and other contractual obligations towards Amazon. Any mention of the provisions of the above law in this document is for ease of reference only. Amazon does not provide any warranties about the completeness and correctness of these provisions or any other information in this document, and assumes no responsibility for any use of or reliance on this document.

The Emirates Standardization and Metrology Authority (ESMA) regulates the safety of electrical devices in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) as per cabinet decision 38 of 2012. To ensure efficiency of the products and safety of the consumer, ESMA also regulates the material from which the electrical and electronic products are manufactured under the Restriction of Hazardous Substance law of cabinet decision 10 of 2017.

In order to be compliant, manufacturers need to test their products and generate test reports from an ISO/IEC 17025 standards-accredited laboratory in order to obtain UAE national standards certification from regulators. In some cases, regulators additionally request a Declaration of Conformity (DoC) to the applicable standards along with the test report associated with each standard to verify compliance.

Declaration of Conformity (DoC)

The Declaration of Conformity (DoC) is a document issued by the manufacturer of a product or the first party to place the product on the market. This document declares that the product meets all applicable directives.

For help with drafting a DoC and to ensure that one provided to you by a supplier meets the relevant criteria, visit the ESMA website

Emirates Conformity Assessment Scheme (ECAS) certification and mark of conformity

The ECAS certificate of conformity is proof that the product has been approved by the UAE through ESMA. The license to use the ECAS Mark of Conformity (ECAS Mark) is given by notified bodies to manufacturers and traders of certified products.

All certified products with the exception of perfumes, detergents, tobacco products, and energy drinks must have the ECAS mark to ensure compliance with UAE national product regulations.

ECAS mark

Validity of ECAS certificate is 3 years, subject to surveillance visits every year after certification to ascertain conformity. For more information about the ECAS Mark, please visit the Usage Policy for ECAS Mark (ECAS Mark of Conformity)

Emirates Quality Mark (EQM)

The Emirates Quality Mark (EQM) is a mark of conformity granted to products that demonstrate compliance with the relevant UAE national standards, regional and/or international standards, and are manufactured by an organization with an effective quality management system to ensure continuous compliance. The mark can be printed on the certified product as a proof of compliance and approval by the Federal Government through ESMA.

The process of obtaining the license to use the Emirates Quality Mark includes a comprehensive evaluation of the product as well as the quality system used by the manufacturer during production through testing and inspection. Requirements to obtain the Emirates Quality mark include but are not limited to the list below:

  • Application form (Online)
  • Valid Industry/Trade license (For companies within the UAE)
  • Declaration of Conformity by the applicant on the product(s) for registration using the applicant’s official letterhead
  • Controlled copy of relevant QMS/HACCP manual (Soft Copy/CD/DVD)
  • Brief description of manufacturing process
  • Test report from recognized testing laboratory
  • Plant equipment layout (Scaled 1:50)
  • Vicinity map of the factory
  • Quality plans that indicate strategy for compliance with relevant standard
  • Copies of labels, markings, logos as required by the relevant standard

Validity of the EQM certificate is 3 years, subject to surveillance visits every year after the certification to ascertain conformity.

Note: The EQM Certificate can be used instead of the ECAS Certificate for certified products.

Sign in to use the tool and get personalized help (desktop browser required). Sign In

Reach hundreds of millions of customers

Start selling on Amazon

© 1999-2022,, Inc. or its affiliates