This article applies to selling in: United Arab Emirates

Set user permissions

Individual sellers: This feature is only available to sellers with a Professional selling plan. Learn more by visiting Selling plan comparison.

When you first set up your Seller Central account on Amazon, only you can access the account tools and features. However, you might want to provide access to others who are involved in the management of your business. For example, you might want a co-owner or employee to manage inventory or handle shipping confirmations.By setting user permissions, other users can complete tasks such as manage inventory or handle shipping confirmations. However, account credentials are unique and confidential information and cannot be shared with anyone and so you can add users or to adjust user permissions with the User Permissions feature.

User permissions are available only to Professional sellers. Amazon offers both Professional and Individual selling plans. You can easily switch your existing selling plan.

Note: Although you can add users to your seller account, you cannot transfer your seller account, even if the business ownership changes. In that event, the new owner should establish a new seller account in their name.

Invitation process

Seller Central uses an invitation model to manage user accounts. First, as the account manager or administrator, send an email or SMS to other users to invite them to create a Seller Central account. Next step is to configure the permissions for each user.

By inviting secondary users into the system and then configuring their permissions, you are assured that the appropriate user accounts are linked to the right owners and that the correct permissions apply to the intended users. The invitation model also helps you to manage user accounts without assistance from Amazon Seller Support.

Step 1: The account manager (you) invites new users

Follow these steps to establish accounts for additional users:

  1. On the Settings menu, click User Permissions.
  2. Enter the contact information of someone you would like to send an invitation to, and click Send invitation. Follow this step for all other individuals you want to invite.

Step 2: The new user accepts the invitation

  1. The person follows the link in the invitation to sign in or create an Amazon account.
    Note: There could be an additional approval step before the new user can start using Seller Central. Amazon will use this security measure if the email or phone number associated with the user account is different from the one you sent the invitation.
  2. A webpage opens to display a confirmation message that Amazon has sent the invite and the user must accept it.

After the secondary user has accepted the invitation, the account manager can assign additional permissions to that user. Additional documents or information may be required during this process.

    To edit new user permissions:
  1. Under Settings, click User Permissions.
  2. Click Edit next to the account you want to change.
  3. Click the button next to each tool you want to allow the user to access.

Why can't I view some pages on Seller Central?

  • Access to certain help pages on Seller Central may depend on your Selling plan, enrollment in Fulfillment by Amazon, and your User Permissions.

Who is a primary or secondary user?

  • A primary user, also known as the account administrator, is the one who registers a new Seller Central account. The primary user will have access to every page and feature their account type offers.
  • A secondary user is the one invited by the primary user, through the User Permissions page. A primary user can grant certain permissions to a secondary user. A secondary user will not be able access the User Permissions page unless a primary user makes them an Admin through the User Permissions.
    Note: A secondary user will become an Admin when a primary user or another Admin grants them View and Edit permission through the User Permissions page. The Admin can then manage permissions for other secondary users.

Who has access to the User Permissions page?

  • A primary user can access the User Permissions page to invite secondary users and grant them access to perform account related activities.
  • A secondary user who has been explicitly granted permission to access the user permissions page by the primary user can access the page. Other secondary users cannot access this page.
    Note: Primary users with Individual Seller accounts cannot add secondary users.

How can a primary user or an Admin add a secondary user?

  1. To add a secondary user, go to Settings and click User Permissions
  2. Invite the secondary user by entering their contact information and click Send invitation. Repeat this for all new secondary users you want to add.
  3. Have your new secondary users follow the instructions in the invitation email.

As a primary user or an Admin, how do I remove a secondary user from my account?

  1. To remove a secondary user, go to Settings and click User.
  2. In the Current Users section, click Delete next to the user you want to remove.
  3. Select OK in the warning message box.
  4. Confirm when you see the Success message.

As a primary user or an Admin, how can I add or remove permissions for my secondary user?

  1. Under Settings, click User Permissions.
  2. Click Manage Permissions next to the secondary user account you want to change.
  3. Modify permissions and your changes will automatically be saved.
    Warning: By setting User Permissions, secondary user accounts can complete tasks such as manage inventory or handle shipping confirmations. However, account credentials are unique and considered confidential information. This information should not be shared with anyone.

As a secondary user, how do I get access to additional features in Seller Central?

  • If you are unable to access a Seller Central feature or help topic because you do not have the necessary permissions, please ask your primary account administrator to grant it to you.

Can I transfer my seller account?

  • Although you can add users to your professional seller account as secondary users, you cannot transfer your seller account. If the business ownership changes, the new owner should establish a new seller account in their name.

How can I switch from an individual selling plan to a professional selling plan?

  • Amazon offers both Professional and Individual Selling plans. Click here to know more about Selling plans.

Sign in to use the tool and get personalized help (desktop browser required). Sign In


Was this article helpful?
Thank you for your feedback
What can we improve? (Optional)
1000
What was helpful?
1000
Thanks again for your help!
Thank you for your feedback. If you have more questions, please Contact Us.

Reach hundreds of millions of customers

Start selling on Amazon


© 1999-2020, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates